Benin Unleash Enyimba, PSG Stars Against Nigeria

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

While the three-time African champions wait on head coach Gernot Rohr to release the list of players for this month’s Afcon qualifiers, their West African neighbours have made public a 23-man roster for the clash

Enyimba International FC defender Nabil Yarou and Paris St Germain star Collins Dagba have been named in a 23-man provisional squad list announced by the Benin Football Federation for their upcoming 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against Nigeria and Sierra Leone.

The Squirrels, second in Group L and one point behind Nigeria, prepare to face the Super Eagles with three goalkeepers, eight defenders, seven midfielders, and five strikers on Saturday, March 27.

On the list is 27-year-old Yarou, who plays club football for Enyimba, having joined the two-time African champions last year following stints at ASPAC and Buffles de Borgou.

Another prominent name on the squad sheet is Paris Saint-Germain fullback Colin Dagba.

It is a first-time call-up for the French youth international, who only made an appearance for the France U21 team in a 3-1 win over Switzerland in a U21 EURO qualifier in November 2020.

Arminia Bielefeld midfielder Cébio Soukou, former Aston Villa forward Rudy Gestede, and Alavés loanee Olivier Verdon are other big names on the list.

Benin will take on 2013 Afcon kings Nigeria at the Stade Charles de Gaulle on March 27, with kick-off set for 5 pm Nigerian time.

A win for Benin will see them overtake Nigeria and qualify for Cameroon 2022 with a game to spare.

Benin Squad

Goalkeepers: Saturnin Allagbé (Dijon, France), Hariston Hessou (Bahir Dar, Ethiopia), Marcel Dandjinou (JDR Stars FC, South Africa)

Defenders: Khaled Adénon (US Avranches, France), Youssouf Assogba (Amiens SC, France), Cédric Hountondji (Clermont Foot, France), David Kiki (PFC Montana, Bulgaria), Olivier Verdon (Ludogorets Razgrad, Bulgaria), Emmanuel Imorou (évian, France), Nabil Yarou (Enyimba, Nigeria), Collins Dagba (PSG, France)

Midfielders: Sessi d ‘Almeida (Valenciennes FC, France), Jérôme Bonou (Djoliba, Mali), Jordan Adéoti (Annecy FC, France), Rodrigue Cossi (Club Africain, Tunisia), Anaane Tidjani (Menemen Spor, Turkey), Cébio Soukou (Arminia Bielefeld, Germany), Jodel Dossou (Clermont Foot, France)

Forwards: Mickael Pote (Bandirmaspor, Turkey), Marcellin Koukpo (CR Belouizdad, Algeria), Jacques Bessan (Olympique Beja, Tunisia), Rudy Gestede (Melbourne, Australia), Steve Mounié ( Stade Brest 29, France)

GetResponse Pro

Source link

ExactNewz newsletterCurrent news at your fingertips

You can subscribe to our newsletter below to get regular updates on current news across the globe.