Best African Player In Ligue 1: Lille’s Victor Osimhen Wins Prix Marc-Vivien Foe 2020:: All Nigeria Soccer

Best African Player In Ligue 1: Lille’s Victor Osimhen Wins Prix Marc-Vivien Foe 2020

Best African Player In Ligue 1: Lille's Victor Osimhen Wins Prix Marc-Vivien Foe 2020Lille’s (LOSC) Nigerian forward Victor Osimhen won the Marc-Vivien Foé RFI- France 24 Prize for best African player in the French Ligue 1, the French football championship for the 2019-2020 season.The runners up are the Algerian forward Islam Slimani (Monaco) and the Moroccan defender Yunis Abdelhamid (Stade Rennais).

Victor Osimhen was chosen by a jury of sport journalists specializing in French and African Football.

He was included in a list of 11 players drafted by RFI’s and France 24’s sports services. They had at heart to highlights this year’s season, which had been full of astonishing performances by African players, before being stopped on March 13 because of the coronavirus crisis.

This edition of the Marc-Vivien Foé Prize celebrates football, while supporters are temporarily unable to watch or attend games, and the achievements of African players in Ligue 1, some of whom could change championship at the end of the season.

About Victor Osimhen: Osimhen arrived in Ligue 1 in 2019 to replace Nicolas Pépé who left for Arsenal F.C. He quickly became one of the biggest scorers of the French championship.

With 13 goals and 4 assists in 27 games, the Nigerian is amongst the best players of Ligue 1. At 21, the forward, trained in Lagos, has already played in Germany (VfL Wolfsburg), Belgium (Charleroi) and is now a player of choice in Christophe Galtier’s team.

Osimhen is the fifth Lille player awarded best African player in Ligue 1 after Gervinho (2010, 2011), Vincent Enyeama (2014), Sofiane Boufal (2016) and Nicolas Pépé (2019).

Since 2011, the best African player in Ligue 1 trophy is named after Marc-Vivien Foé, to honour the Cameroonian player who tragically passed during a game at the Gerland stadium in Lyon on June 26 2003.

Winner of the former editions:

2009 : Marouane Chamakh (Morocco)

2010 : Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2011 : Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2012 : Younès Belhanda (Morocco)

2013 : Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

2014 : Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)

2015 : André Ayew (Ghana)

2016 : Sofiane Boufal (Morocco)

2017 : Jean Michaël Seri (Ivory Coast)

2018 : Karl Toko-Ekambi (Cameroon)

2019 : Nicolas Pépé (Ivory Coast)

Ifeanyi Emmanuel


Copyright ANS

All rights reserved. This material, and
other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced,
published, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior
express written permission from

GetResponse Pro

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

ExactNewz newsletterCurrent news at your fingertips

You can subscribe to our newsletter below to get regular updates on current news across the globe.